• University of Sunshine Coast

University Overview

The university was established in 1994, opening in 1996 as the Sunshine Coast University College. The University of the Sunshine Coast Act 1998 was passed in Queensland Parliament on 19 November of that year, legislating the independent status of the university. The university changed to its current name of the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) in 1999. It was created by the Australian Government to serve the growing population of the Sunshine Coast region, north of Brisbane in Queensland. The University of the Sunshine Coast is the first greenfield university established in Australia since 1971.


Location State City

Other Campus Location


QS Global Rank: 0

Times Higher Education Rank: 0

University Feature

The University of The Sunshine Coast (USC) is a Public University based on the Sunshine Coast QAustralia. After opening with 524 students in 1996 as the Sunshine Coast University College, it was later renamed theUniversity of Sunshine Coast in 1999.

The university has a flagship campus at Sippy Donws on the Sunshine Coast, with more campuses at Hervey Bay on the Fraser Coast Gympie, Caboolture, and South Bank in Brisbane USC also has study hubs in Noosa and North Lakes. In 2020, USC will open a full-service campus at Petrie in Moreton Bay.

University Intakes

Intake For Intake Date

Scholarship and Funding

Merit Based